The Five Love Languages  is a book by Garry Chapman.

The love languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Quality time and
  5. Physical Touch.

It is great to know what your love language is and even more helpful to know what your partner’s love language is. Understanding your own preferences can help you communicate your desires and recognise the preferences of those around you. Love Languages don’t only have to apply to romantic love.

Follow the link above to find out more and do a quiz to see what your love language is. There are quizzes for you whether you are in a relationship or single. The quizzes also cater for your age.

Word of Affirmation is loving to receive acknowledgement.

Acts of Service is loving getting those jobs around the place done.

Receiving gifts is self-explanatory. It is worth noting that the gifts can be flowers from the garden one day and chocolates the next. It is not giving Lamborghinis – but I think that would be appreciated.

Quality Time is going away or doing selected activities together.

Physical Touch is all types of touch.

Just a heads up on Acts of Service – A question I answered year’s ago with my partner was –

Would you rather a) Go on holiday or b) Do the dishes? 

For me the answer was a no brainer – “Holiday”.  Imagine my surprise when my partner answered “Dishes”.  The book explains that Acts of Service can be difficult to understand for those who don’t speak that language.  My partner selected 100% Acts of Service options. I selected none. I appreciated the book’s explanation, because I found Acts of Service extremely difficult to understand.

Understanding this difference is helpful to identify ways your partner expresses love. From here the ability to tailor your approach can reap rewards. 

What language of love do you speak?

Share your experiences with the love languages.